The Sheep and the Goat

One of the harshest things Jesus said was “Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.” Ouch! What did these people ever do that resulted in such harsh words from Jesus? Did they commit a horrendous crime? Are they secular humanists? Do they believe in evolution? Did they commit some sexual sin? Are they idol worshipers? What could they have done that led Jesus to turn them away?

Matthew 25:31-46. Why did Jesus say “depart from me?” “For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.'”

Some might say “But Jesus! I accepted you as my Lord and Savior!” “But Jesus, I went to the front when the preacher gave the alter call!” “But Jesus, I went to church every Sunday! My parents are devout Christians! I went on mission trips and taught Sunday School!”

They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’

“He will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

Who are the “least of these” in your life?

Leave a Reply

