The REAL war on Christmas

TIME Magaizine has a great article on the REAL war on Christmas. You can read it by following this link.

Like the article points out, every year around this time some Christians will start complaining that schools and stores are being too politically correct. It’s labeled The War on Christmas. The secular world is hostile to Christ so they have taken him away from Christmas and now stores and school are only allowed to say “Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas.” How are we supposed to respond to this Biblically?

Biblically the world is supposed to hate Jesus and the world is supposed to hate Christians (John 15:18-19). Jesus told us that’s the way it would be. How do we respond to that hatred?

Biblically Jesus told us to go and make disciples of all nations (Matthew 28:18-20) and Jesus told us to love our enemies (Matthew 5:43-45). There is nothing about boycotting stores or accusing them of being hostile to Christians. After all, do you go to Wal-Mart to hear the Gospel? Then why do you expect them to celebrate Christ?

Biblically, spending money and buying things is NOT the way to celebrate the birth of Christ. According to the bible the birth of Christ was celebrated through worship. Wisemen came from far away to worship Jesus (Matthew 2:1-12). Shepherds were called away from their job and went to worship Jesus (Luke 2:8-20). Have you worshipped Jesus yet? Have you gone out of your way to worship Him? What have you left behind so that you could worship Christ?

Biblically, there is no justification for Christians to spend our time concerned on the greetings found retail stores. It’s ridiculous and again, un-biblical. Instead, this is Biblical:

Away with your noisy hymns of praise! I will not listen to the music of your harps. Instead, I want to see a mighty flood of justice, an endless river of righteous living.
~ Amos 5:23-24

The godly care about the rights of the poor; the wicked don’t care at all.
~ Proverbs 5:7

Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.
~James 1:27

Wal-Mart, L.L. Bean (to their credit they are trying fix it), Pier 1 and Kohl’s are all known users of child and slave labor. The stuff you buy at Wal-Mart could have been made by a human being (most likely a child) who was sold to be a slave by his or her family to pay off a debt and buy food. I don’t care if Wal-Mart tells me “Merry Christmas!” and hands me a bible. They are dehumanizing people made in the image of God. They are dishonoring the image of God, not by their Christmas greetings but by the oppression of those made in God’s image.

This is the real war Christians are called to engaged in. Christmas is NOT a month long reason to buy things and party hard. It is about worshiping Jesus. Go worship him. Worship Jesus like the wisemen and the shepherds did… how can you go to him today?

34“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

37“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’

41“Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

44“They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’

45“He will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

Matthew 25:34-45

One thought on “The REAL war on Christmas

  1. I appreciated this post — thank you for writing it. I’ve often wondered why people are offended by the “Happy Holidays” greeting when there are more important things to worry about!

Leave a Reply

